Institute of Ethnology and Anthropology

Institute of Ethnology and Anthropology, which is part of the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics at the Sts. Cyril and Methodius University in Skopje, is successor of the Department of Ethnology, formed in 1946. The founder of this Department was professor Branislav Rusich. The Department exists to 1953 when the Ministry for Education of Macedonia abolished the Department of Ethnology on the Faculty of Philosophy in Skopje. The only subject that was kept, was the subject Ethnology which was included in the Educational Plan and Program of the Department of Geography. In the period between 1969-1980 there were more initiatives for reestablishing the Department of Ethnology.

In 1984 the responsible state bodies from the domain of the sciences and education brought decision for renewal of the Department of Ethnology as a part of the Institute of Geography at Faculty of Natural Science and Mathematics. In this period, until 1990, there were 4 professors working at the Ethnological department, all of them retired: Galaba Palikrusheva Ph.D., Milosh Konstantinov Ph.D., Dushan Konstantinov Ph.D. and Miodrag Hadzi-Ristic Ph.D., and one Assistant Mirjana Aluloska (currently Mirchevska). After 1990 there were three new professors at the Department: Aneta Svetieva Ph.D., Nijazi Limanoski Ph.D. and Gorgi Zdravev Ph.D., one professor with a Ph.D. in museological sciences - Krste Bogoeski, Ph.D., as well as two other assistants that have later on defended their PhDs: Ljupco Nedelkov and Ljupco S. Risteski. During the last few year two new assistants were employed at the IEA: Davorin Trpeski and Ilina Jakimovska.

In 2005, on the 31st of March, the Department of Ethnology, following the decision of the Board of the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, becomes an Institute of Ethnology and Anthropology, and thus becomes the seventh institute in the frames of the above mentioned faculty. It starts with independent work on the 1st of October 2005. The current curriculum of the Institute has been created following the curricula and programs of the European credit-transfer system on ethnology and anthropology.